The Passage

 

Imogene Pass ~
This past Saturday I enjoyed my third pilgrimage run over the beautiful Imogene Pass thru the sacred peaks of San Juan’s. That run, its beauty, demands, and spirit never cease to amaze me and challenge me… 3/4 of the way up I found myself in the top 20 on pace for a 2:30-40 finishing time. As can happen a little ‘bug’ or who knows what asserted itself so backing off a tad I went with the flow of the mountain finishing 9th in my age group and top 15% over all. No regrets. Never regrets.Especially proud of my son Kerry for finishing his first Imogene with gallant tenacity. In addition, a joy to share the pilgrimage with my old WF bro Steve from Durango and Grand Junction friend Lara on her first run of the passage.

An interesting insight Kerry made… that the demographic of those running over the mountain revealed a completely different kind of character and ethos of most those we meet in daily life, not only in a fit body but in mind and perspective and values. Furthermore that if the majority of americans and of society embraced such a life and experienced such events that the whole character of the country would be entirely different. More mindful, more appreciative, more dialed in to what matters. Ripples. He is absolutely right. 

One thought on “The Passage

Leave a Reply

