The path upon the High Mesa


The following prayer is one I would like to share in initiating these field notes.
The first month and a half has been full of blessing, strength, soul exploration, and some kick ass fitness by those athletes in the circle. I bow and high five each one of them.

May these words resonate with every one on their routes and ways upon the High Mesa.

‘Let me walk in beauty
and make my eyes ever behold
the red and purple sunset.
Make my hands respect the things
you have made,
and my ear sharp to hear your voice.
Make me wise so that I may
understand
the things you have taught my people.
Let me learn the lessons you have
hidden
in every leaf and rock.
I seek strength
not to be greater than my brother
but to overcome my greatest enemy:
myself
Make me always ready to come to
you
with clean hands and straight eyes.
So when life fades
as a fading sunset
my spirit may come to you
without shame.’

Leave a Reply

